Five Summer Holiday Reads

Rachel Wood, founder of the Rare Birds Book Club, chooses some books to pack for your trip.

Summer is here and that can only mean one thing… a long-awaited holiday. So, whether you are packing for Crete or Clacton, Bali or Bude, you should be starting to think about the must-have essentials. Sandals, sun lotion and the most sizzling summer reads are all at the top of the packing pile and to make life just that little bit easier, founder of Rare Birds Book Club, Rachel Wood, has put together a list of THE hottest reading material for you this season. For total summer euphoria, just add a cocktail…

In At The Deep End by Kate Davies

One of the funniest books you’ll read this year, In At The Deep End follows the adventures (and misadventures) of Julia. Until recently, she hadn’t had sex in three years, but when she meets the alluring Sam, she realises that all this time, maybe the problem isn’t her at all, but men in general. It’s fresh, frank and absolutely filthy – think of it as a lesbian coming-of-age rom-com about finding yourself, expanding your horizons, and having a bit of fun in the process.

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Queenie’s life is spiralling out of control. Her family doesn’t understand her, her job is uncertain, and she’s hung up on her unworthy ex. Hilarious and tender, Queenie is a character you’ll be wishing was a mate, and the novel strikes a difficult balance, managing to be honest and funny while peeling back the layers of complex emotional issues like anxiety, racism and abuse. It’s joyful, emotional, thoughtful and fun – perfect for fans of Fleabag and Bridget Jones’ Diary.

Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins-Reid

Step backstage and follow the story of Daisy Jones and her doomed relationship with fellow bandmember Billy Dunne. Told as an oral history, this atmospheric book beautifully calls to mind the boho chic of the 70s and weaves a tale of fame, love and music that feels so real you’ll forget it’s fiction. Perfect for fans of A Star Is Born.

The Confessions of Frannie Langton by Sara Collins

Set in atmospheric Georgian London, The Confessions of Frannie Langton tells the story of Frannie, a former slave plucked from her home on a Jamaican sugar plantation, who ends up on trial for a murder she can’t remember committing. Atmospheric and riveting, this gothic novel is perfect for fans of Alias Grace and Jane Eyre.

Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

If you love taking a rom-com on holiday but want to leave some of the tired tropes that this genre is famous for behind, Don’t You Forget About Me is the book you need in your beach bag. The story follows Georgina, who has no choice but to asses her life up until now after finding her boyfriend in bed with someone else and being fired from the worst restaurant in Sheffield – on the same day. Just when she thinks she’s turned things around she comes face to face with the gorgeous Lucas, her new boss and long-lost high school sweetheart. There’s just one problem – he doesn’t remember her at all. It’s funny, romantic and not afraid to tackle serious issues head-on.

Rachel Wood from Rare Birds

Like these reads but no time to pop to the shops before your week away? Rare Birds has got you covered for that too. Offering subscriptions in one, three, six and  12 month bundles, each month you will receive a surprise new book (like the ones above) from a dazzling female author – all delivered straight to your door. Founder Rachel, (left), will also provide you with the reason she thinks it’s worth your time, before diving head-first into an online debate about everything from the characters and the plot, to the celebs you dream of in the roles. The best part is, you get to join in too and because the book club is online, no-one will know if you happen to be by the pool drinking a margarita…unless you tell all!

Pin It on Pinterest